PWM Charge Controller Not Entering Float Mode

Macca
Macca Registered Users Posts: 15 ✭✭
Hi all, I'm a newbie to solar charging, so if I'm asking a stupid question, please forgive me.

I've recently just installed an 110AH LA battery in our trailer tent accompanied with a rather trick custom made output panel (lots of usb outlets, a couple of cigar sockets, an LED lighting connector and 3 Pin faceplate connected to an inverter).
It involved removing 2 full length drawers, dividing the space in two, putting the battery and panel on one side and making a new, double height drawer for the other side.

That's all just setting the scene though :).

To keep the battery topped up when we're away camping, I have a 80w suitcase solar panel with the generic blue 20a PWM controller.

I noticed last week that the controller didn't appear to enter float mode when the battery looked to be full, but being in a field in the middle of nowhere I was limited to the checks I could do.

Now I'm back home, I thought I'd have a proper look.

So, using another 110AH battery I have in the garage for convenience i did a bit of playing.

First, I charged the battery using my 10a mains charger. When full the battery was measuring 13.1v using my multimeter.

However, when connecting the battery to the controller, the controller listed 12.9v, so it appears to under read a couple of tenths (both measurements were taken using a 2 foot, 30a cable - So the readings are like for like).
I don't know if this is relevant or not.

The controller has the bulk charge voltage set to 14.4v and the battery type to LA.
The float voltage is set to 13.7v.

I connected the panel/controller up to the battery this morning and pointed it at the sun.

The panel display was showing 14.4v going into the battery (confirmed by the multimeter, well it was 14.5v but it's close enough).

What I was expecting is that after a short while, that the controller would drop to the 13.7v float mode as the battery was already full.