Need help on wiring an inverter system into a panel

huntersteve
huntersteve Registered Users Posts: 4
hello group I am new to the forum and have a wiring question. Let me start by explaining what I have.

i have a hunt camp in northern Ontario currently running on a 9kv 220volt diesel generator. And I recently purchased a 120volt 4000k watt inverter with 4x6 volt industrial machine batteries. I am a mechanic and pretty familiar with using different voltages and setups. 

My gen is hooked up to a 220volt panel and currently running all day and I wanted to limit the hours of it running for noise and unnecessary fuel usage. 

My my intentions are to use the alternator thats on the generator to charge the batteries during cooking and shower time 3-4 hours a day and run on battery power the rest of the day to keep the fridge lights and water pump going.

My question is this. How do I hook up a 120volt system to my 220volt panel? I wanted to run both banks of my panel but Not using my 220volt appliances during battery time (water heater and stove) 

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum @huntersteve

To begin with I'm sure you're referring to a 120/240V split system, that aside your proposed use of the generator alternator to charge a battery bank is not something that would be recommended, the alternator is designed to replenish the losses associated with startup, asking it to do more will result in overheating and premature failure.