10.4 amp air compressor

Options
brewer
brewer Registered Users Posts: 21 ✭✭
I'm a beginner on learning how much draw certain products use.  Just got a 10.4 amp air compressor that I want to use on my simple 12 6v battery, 24 volt system  I'll only use it when it's sunny.

Is this a reasonably low draw compressor?

Thanks.

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    What voltage is the compressor, what capacity are the batteries?  These details are nessersary to begin a discussion.
    1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.  
    5Kw Yanmar clone single cylinder air cooled diesel generator for rare emergency charging and welding.
  • brewer
    Options
    120V  How do I figure battery capacity?  I have 12 6V batteries.  4 rows of 4 in parallel.

Thanks
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Remember starting current for motor loads is 10-100 times higher than running current, so the battery and the inverter need to be able to handle that starting current.  Compressors are often even harder to start, if they have to start against significant head pressure.   Tony
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2019 #5
    Options
    brewer said:
    120V  How do I figure battery capacity?  I have 12 6V batteries.  4 rows of 4 in parallel.

Thanks
    Ouch.  Massive parallel (more than 2 banks) batteries.
    for 12 batteries, you have 2 in series, and then 6 parallel sets.
     read up about about parallel issues here http://www.smartgauge.co.uk/batt_con.html