Do we really need an 8kw system just to run an AC unit?!

desertsun
desertsun Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
My boyfriend and I are moving off grid soon and have just been given a quote for adding an 8kw solar system just to run one 3 ton (36,000 btu) ductless minisplit a/c with heat pump. That seems way too extreme to me. It seems like maybe they were counting on us running the unit on high 24/7 but air conditioning only runs about 8 hours a day (from my understanding). Is this true for a mini split? I have tried to run the numbers but I am still learning about solar. We currently already have a 3kw (48v) system in place. We can not upgrade that system but can only add another system. Here are the specs:

Planning to get Daikin mini split https://www.amazon.com/Daikin-220V-Split-Inverter-Conditioner/dp/B00UCEZ0Y0
Installing a 230v outlet outside for the unit.
Have 3kw system already.
We expect our usage to be 7000 watts a day before adding air conditioning/heat pump wattage.

Any and all opinions would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It may help if you list details of the 3kw system you have already, your approximate location, and maybe some background/expectations for going off-grid.

7kwh/day is on the high side for off-grid, but not totally unreasonable. 3kw solar may be on the low side, depending on location etc.
    Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer
    Night system ~1kw panels into 1xMNClassic150 700ah 12v bank morningstar 300w inverter
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    edited September 2018 #3
    Just to be clear... Is this an 8kWatt AC inverter and 8kWatt of solar panels? What is the AH and voltage rating of the proposed battery bank?