Battery desulfator

I was wondering if a Battery desulfator was a good thing to add to your battery bank. I see some people say they will make your batteries last 3 times as long. I also hear they are just a bunch of hype.... I am new at this and need some good facts, thanks in advance .... If they are a good thing to use on your battery bank can you tell me what brand might be good.:D

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Battery desulfator

I believe the general consensus of opinion among the more knowledgeable members of the forum is that there is only anecdotal evidence and theory in their favour. Pretty hard to prove conclusively that they do or don't work. Most people do not use them, and yet manage to get some quite surprisingly long lifespans from even inexpensive batteries. This is done by being careful about charging and discharging.

Short form: save your money. :roll:
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

if facts are what you want then properly charge the battery in the first place with proper maintenance and forget about a desulfator as it wouldn't be needed if it was done properly in the first place. i am of the contention they don't work and are not needed even if somebody came up with one that did. you can draw your own conclusions if you think that proper charging and maintenance isn't enough as it'll be your $ being spent.
  • waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭

Methinks desulfators are a lot like those little ultrasonic deer whistles some people stick on their car. Those who use them swear by them, even thought there is no scientific proof they work, and indeed much evidence to suggest that deer don't even hear in the ultrasonic range anyway. On the other hand, I've never used them, and in over 40 years driving, have never hit a deer - - at least not so far :roll: