Hey, Noob here, pls help :)

velo27
velo27 Registered Users Posts: 1
I have recently bought a reasonable little off grid system. 24v - 2x340w panels, 30a charge controller, 1700w inverter with 2x270ah batteries AGM...

I went from in summer the batteries being 100% charged by 10am, running deep freeze 24/7, washing machine a couple of times a day and the water pump and barely moving the SOC till the sun went down, then the deep freeze would maybe use 10-15% soc overnight.

After running the batteries very low one night (thought the charge controllers job was to prevent this), got awaken by inverter beeping, I'm now getting very erratic readings from the charge controller, soc dropping and rising 40-50% within the space of an hour.

I'm confused as to whether the charge controller is giving false data, seems unrealistic, the batteries are stuffed or this is normal for autumn? 
>
The contoller is set GEL and I have AGM, but don't see a setting for AGM, the guy who i bought them off, says the controller was preset and no need to change anything...

Any help appreciated 

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum 

The controller SOC  indications are voltage based, thus merely an indication of something they cannot accurately measure.
    The deep discharge will likely take many hours to recover the lost capacity, this needs to be done ASAP to prevent the lost capacity becoming permanent through sulfation, even if it requires disconnecting all loads to do so.

1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.