I am looking to double my solar array

bajamox
bajamox Registered Users Posts: 26 ✭✭

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This probably shows I'm a beginner

I currently have six panels that are 230 W, 37VOC, 7.67Amp

I can pick up 6 panels, at a great price,  that are not the same specs but close

They are  230W, 37.4 Voc 8.43A

I am thinking that they match close enough to wire one from each group in series  then parallel to create a six panel string then do that again for the next string. I should not just add the six new mismatched panels together to create a new string. Would this confuse the Charge controller or is the difference so little that the controller will cope?

Comments

• MichaelK
    MichaelK Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭✭
    The controller will never notice. Those voltage differences are tiny.  The total amperages will add at the combiner. 
    System 1) 15 Renogy 300w + 4 250W Astronergy panels,  Midnight 200 CC, 8 Trojan L16 bat., Schneider XW6848 NA inverter, AC-Delco 6000w gen.
    System 2) 8 YingLi 250W panels, Midnight 200CC, three 8V Rolls batteries, Schneider Conext 4024 inverter (workshop)
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    I do not understand your wiring diagram... Are all panels in parallel (Vmp~37 volts, Imp-array=6xImp-panel)? Or are some in series?

Both are very close in Vmp and Imp ratings... Less than the 2-5% variations you may see from panel to panel.

I don't think you can measure the "real differences" with a DMM in the field, and the MPPT controller would not care.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • bajamox
    BB. said:
    I do not understand your wiring diagram... Are all panels in parallel (Vmp~37 volts, Imp-array=6xImp-panel)? Or are some in series?