How much power from inverter? Confused by magnum diagrams

nan_wpg
nan_wpg Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
So I’m not an electrician, but I’m fairly knowledgeable so I’m kinda embarrassed to even ask this because I AM new to DC and solar. 

Specifically I’ll refer to the magnum 2024, and 4024 inverters. Both inverters have diagrams showing a 30, or 60 amp input, and then have a table for single in single out wiring for 60 amps for all the ms inverters. 60 amps x 120 volts gives me 7200 watts which is more than the 2024 can handle (I think??) 

I don’t understand how much power I can draw from the inverter. Keep in mind I’m talking off grid power from batteries only. My pass through will be limited to my generator. 

I don’t know if I use the battery voltage, or ac voltage to calculate this. 

My interpretation is I can have 1 15 amp breaker/circuit with the 2024, and 2 15 amp breaker/circuits with the 4024. Obviously this is dependent on the battery bank. Let’s say 4 batteries, 6 volt @220 AH. 

So I guess what I’m asking is what is my service? I.e at home I have 200 amp service, to a 100 amp panel. Ms2024 gives me X amp service, and ms4024 gives me X amp service. 

Or am I thinking wrong about this. 

I wish magnum would give examples in the manual WITHOUT a grid connection. 

Hopefully I’ve communicated my question properly. 

Thanks. 

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not sure where you are seeing the different things in the manual,  You can hook up as many breakers/circuits as you like...
    The 'total service will be limited to the output of the inverter.  So roughly in amps 2000watts would be 2000/120=16.6 amps and 4000 watts would be 33 amps.

I've lived with an 1800 watt inverter hooked to the 200amp (now)sub panel in my mobile home for several years.