Best Set Up for Charging OutBack 200NC Batteries

Options
Daisy
Daisy Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello, I'm a newbie when it comes to solar system setups so any help is greatly appreciated.
We recently had installed 12x365w panels a 5kw MPP solar 48v hybrid inverter with 8x200amp Outback batteries.
Everything seems to be running fine but I was wondering how to check to see if our current charging settings are optimal for our batteries to ensure that we aren't discharging below 50% or overcharging the batteries.
I've searched on-line looking for info on best charging setups but it's all over the board.

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    You are in essence charging and discharging the battery bank. Set the hybrid inverter/charger to use the properties of the batteries. Here's a pdf of the battery manual for Outback Energycell batteries;

http://www.outbackpower.com/downloads/documents/energy_storage/energycell_re/energycell_manual.pdf

If your hybrid inverter doesn't have a function to give you an idea of the state of charge of the battery bank, or you aren't happy with it... You could get a shunt based battery monitor from Trimetric or Victron.

Here's a link to the Trimetric, you will likely need a shunt and wiring as well, (I linked to the RV version, I don't think there is much difference than the home version, but it come with an enclosure for $5 more);

https://www.solar-electric.com/bogart-engineering-tm-2030-rv-battery-monitor.html
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • softdown
    softdown Solar Expert Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭✭
    Options