Commissioning Procedure for Flooded Lead Acid Batteries??

ligwyd
ligwyd Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭
Hello again forum participants :)

First off, as always, thank you in advance for this forum and to whoever may find the time to throw me a bone:) Always appreciated!!!

The Batteries I am prepping to Commission are the Discover 12VRE 3000TF (PDF Attached)

Also the Commissioning Procedure as stated by Discover on the Commissioning Instructions seems pretty clear, yet as always, I am not completely clear on how to execute the task as this is my first time Commissioning/ Activating FLA Batteries with the XW+ 6848.

I have 3 strings of 4 batteries each and I think that I will commission each string separately. Each string has a C10 185 amp/ hour rating so I calculated off that.

* I guess my biggest question is how can I hold a constant Amperage when I am charging with the XW+ as it automatically throttles down as the batteries reach full charge? Step 1 calls for 10-15 Amps (average of 12.5 Amps) per 100 Ah of C10 capacity which is 23.125 Amps per 185 Ah capacity C10. So am I supposed to hold a fully charged string at 20 ish Amps for 3- 5 hours? Maybe there is a way to set the XW to hold constant Amps? Not sure??

When I installed the batteries, out of the box I connected them in strings of four and set the XW as per battery manufacturer spec and just let it do its thing. Each month, as they sit and wait for sale, I run them through a charge cycle, followed by a 1 hour EQ and then let them float over night 24 hours. I am sure this will keep the batteries healthy unit they find their new home, however I've read that before putting the batteries into full time service that it is a good idea to Commission Charge (refresh charge) before hand.