Solar Controller Sizing, Please Help Me Out

Options
janka
janka Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
edited May 2019 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hi everybody. Please excuse my "newbie" mentality, but I am new to the word of solar power.

My question is if I have 2 x 110Amp 12v leisure batteries in parallel feeding into a controller, then what size controller (in Amps) do I need? I am just setting up a  minimal solar system to run a laptop and a few lights in a building with no grid power connection. I have 2 x 100W (200 W in total) solar panels feeding into the 2 x 12v batteries connected in parallel. I also have a 3000W 12v inverter that I also want connected to the controller that will only ever be used for shaver/hairdryer/ hifi/ electric power tools -- eg drill/sander max 500w/ peak 1000w --  occasionally.

I guess that 2 x 110 Amp 12v leisure batteries in parallel make 220 Amps at 12v feeding into the controller. So, since I have 12V out and I want to use an inverter sometimes, I can not figure how to size the controller I need in Amps. Is there a particular type of make of controller that anybody here can recommend to me?

Thanks so much for reading - Janka
smoke me a kipper and i'll be back for beakfast ...

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    The 'solar controller' is actually a 'charge controller'. It helps regular the voltage and charging of the battery bank.

So sizing should be based on the type and amount of solar power coming into the system.

There are 2 different types of charge controllers. Inexpensive ones are PWM charge controllers. They send the amperage available from the panel and pulse the charge to limit the line voltage taking advantage of batteries electro chemical properties.
    With PWM a 12 volt deep cycle battery will charge at a max of about 14.5 - 15 volts. The voltage above this is lost. Some of this is expected and part of the losses in real NOCT values of the wattage from the panels.