forklift battery sizing and prolonging life

kava
kava Registered Users Posts: 3
Hello, I have never used a forum before and I am VERY new to solar but I found some great information here and thought I would join.  I am in the process of desiging my solar system and am looking for advice/confirmation for the system I plan to purchase.  After a TON of research I have decided to go with a forklift battery, new, 24-85-13.   It is 48v 804ah with an automatic watering system on it as an added safety but do not plan to rely on it. I will have 14 panels Axitec 360watt mono 60 cell. Has anyone heard of the Sol-Ark?  It is the reason I have decided to go solar.  It is EMP proof and a nice all-in-one unit that makes things more simple for me. The house is pretty efficient and looking at my PGE bill it seems I use 10-16 kwh in a day when not running the air-conditioner (about $120/month).  I do not plan to size my system to handle the HVAC. The Sol-Ark is able to be grid-tied, hybrid or off-grid.  I will use it in a hybrid mode unless the grid is down.  After seeing how it all works out I may go off-grid in the future. I also have an 8kw generator that will plug right into the Sol-Ark for auto start if/when needed. 

OK...now for my questions.

Is my system sized ok for my battery?  

I am confused by the battery manufactures information.  Will I get more life out of my battery in a "float" or do I need to always discharge way down to 80% and then all the way back up to avoid having lots of cycles and wearing out faster.  Does a charge to maintain "float" not count as a cycle?  I want this battery to last a LONG time which why I am going with a lift battery.

Do I have enough panels for my use?  I am in California zip code 95648 and the location is FULL sun, all day. 

I may want to run another well pump and a mini-split air conditioner in the future if the system is able. 

Goal: to be as self sufficient as possible

Sol-Ark info attached:

Comments

• Photowhit