Lithium Battery Complications

Options
Greetings all.  I'm new to solar and wish to install a system on our travel trailer.  Sitting down yesterday with the RV service guy, I realize I'm not yet ready.  I had intended AGM batteries, now I'm considering Lithium.  My immediate questions are these:

1) It seems I now need a solar controller intended for lithium batteries.  Is that correct? 

2) Victron advertises its batteries as having just four cells.  Of course I don't want a battery consisting of a hundred smaller cells.  Which battery brands do you recommend? 

3) Can two separate Li batteries be wired in parallel?  I read that there are inherent troubles with this. 

4) Finally, if I find myself with cold-soaked Li batteries...let's say 15 degrees fahrenheit...what sort of power would I have?  Enough to run a heater blower long enough to warm the trailer/battery?  (2X Battle Born 100Ah 12VLiFePO4)  How cold is too cold for cold soak?

5) Is it true that a Li battery should never be charged below 32 degrees F?

FYI:  4X 170-watt solar panels in series, Victron MPPT 150/60 TR controller, AIMS 2000 watt 70A inverter/charger, 2X Battle Born 12V LiFePO4 batteries

Thank you for responding.

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

1) It seems I now need a solar controller intended for lithium batteries.  Is that correct? 

A controller with requisite programmability (absorb voltage, etc) could be used, but one with pre-set charging profiles would need a specific profile suited to the battery chosen.

2) Victron advertises its batteries as having just four cells.  Of course I don't want a battery consisting of a hundred smaller cells.  Which battery brands do you recommend? 

3) Can two separate Li batteries be wired in parallel?  I read that there are inherent troubles with this.