Do I need a disconnect/switch on each parallel string (3 strings in parallel)?

tchss777
tchss777 Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
Hey all, apologies as I'm sure this has been covered already (I'm not very good at searching for this particular question).

I'd like to know if I need to have a disconnect/switch between my parallel solar strings. I'm mainly concerned about the safety/reliability of "hot plugging" parallel strings together during install (if there was enough potential between the strings). Each string will be fused, and the panels are identical (on paper at least). All of the panels will be close together and facing the same direction during install.

My panels:
- ~100Voc each
- Isc = ~6A
- 3 bypass diodes per panel

My setup:
- MPPT Victron charger
- 3 parallel strings
- 2 panels in series per string
- ~200Voc per string
- ~6A per string
- 8A fuse per string
- 3 strings will be combined inside of my combiner box

Because of my design and space constraints, I'd really like to avoid have 3 switches for each string. Instead, I'd like to use a single switch (contactor) on the PV+ rail after all 3 strings are combined together. Is this acceptable by NEC standards?

Threw together a rough wiring diagram: https://imgur.com/a/uvhmsts

Thanks in advance for the help! :smile:

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum 

Since you're using fuses, why not use circuit breakers which will serve both purposes https://www.amazon.com/MidNite-Solar-Photovoltaic-Circuit-Breaker/dp/B004EQK7YA not withstanding space consideration. The contactor would need have DC rated contacts  and consumes energy assuming normally open and non latching. 

The dissconntion of the 4 position connector in the example would be fine if the contactor were open, but the question is why the connector ?  No comment on NEC standards.