Small scale off-grid inverter blowing internal fuse/OCPD question

alexj
alexj Registered Users Posts: 25 ✭✭
I am working with an organization that builds small-scale offgrid solar systems for running lighting and small appliances in the developing world. I am new to the organization and I am trying to improve the designs of the organization's systems. We have been using Xantex 300W X-Power inverters that are internally fused and have had quite a few fuses blow in very remote locations - a situation that is really difficult to address. The customer cannot fix the situation and we have to send a tech out, which can involve hours of travel in some cases. The internal fuse is a 40a blade-style fuse. I have a few questions that I am hoping some folks here can answer:

1. If the inverter has built in overload protection that, in my experience, typically works to shut down the inverter before the fuse blows, then why are these fuses blowing? In no cases so far has it been a short or installation issue. What could we improve in our design or our discussions with our clients to prevent this from happening? We obviously discuss not connecting too large of loads, but what are we missing?
2. There is already overcurrent protection in the design, in the form of a 40 amp breaker between the battery and the inverter, but the breaker has not prevented the internal fuse of the inverter from blowing in these cases. The 40amp breaker is oversized in my mind - we should be fine with a 35amp breaker, but in any case, after looking at the trip curves for a blade-fuse, it is clear that they will open far faster than Midnite's breakers. In an ideal world, I would have some form of OCPD that would open before the inverter's internal fuse does, but that will not trip as the inverter surges.
-Is there a DC breaker solution that isn't cost prohibitive (Midnite's breakers, at $20, are around the pricepoint we are looking at) that would work for this application?