Outback FM80 stops charging but other controllers continue

Caribsolar
Caribsolar Registered Users Posts: 3
I'm new to solar and just had my system installed in mid-July.  I had one company do the main installation but I wasn't happy with their service or warranties and got another company to install additional panels and system components.

The first company installed: 

• 24-300w VMN polycrystalline panels (3 in series and then 2 series in parallel I think) panels install in the south
  • Midnite combiner with 30A breakers (I think)
  • Midnite DC Lightning arrestor on combiner box
  • 2 Fungpusun FM80 charge controllers (Outback FM80 copies)
  • Midnite Mini disconnect box with breakers
  • HP 10,000w inverter (factory manufactures for Aims)
  • 24-6V 225AH AGM batteries - 3 strings of 8 batteries per string (Deep cycle 7.3v - 7.5v)
  • Ground rod (I also have ground rods at the meter as well as connected to the main panel box for the house)
  • Manual change over switch between utility and solar power
I soon realized that the batteries were being discharged too low (46v) and between the daily load and what the panels produced there wasn't enough energy to fully charge the batteries.  The HP inverter by default would switch to utility power at 47v and the first company said the settings couldn't be changed.  I decided to buy more panels and am toying with buying more batteries (but am worried about there being 4 parallel strings - one UK website suggested using busbars to connect the parallels), however, because I was dissatisfied with the first company's service I decided to go to another company.