24v, 12v, Panels, Charge Controller and Battery

BlakeFleming85
BlakeFleming85 Registered Users Posts: 33 ✭✭
Since I'm a raw beginner at this, I think I've missed some simple points that make a huge difference.  Can someone clarify for me?

I thought if you have a 12v battery or battery bank, that you had to have a 12v panel or Array of panels.   Apparently this is not true.  Resources say that I can have a 24 volt panel connected to a CC (either PWM or MPPT) and the CC will convert the incoming power to match the connected 12v battery.  Is this true?

Also, the resources say that I can even mix 24v and 12v panels  and there is no harm done to the CC or the 12v battery.  Of course, connecting the PA in Series or Parallel makes a big difference in the effectiveness of the current transferred to the battery.

Does this mean that any reliable CC will safely do this as long as I'm not overloading the 10amp, 20amp, etc. rating?  

Finally, in doing all of this, what is the absolute bottom line in battery charging?  Is the main goal to get the highest Amps possible?  Are the Amps what I'm actually trying to improve the most for sake of charging a system, as opposed to getting minor adjustments from 13.1 or 13.6 or 14.1volts?   

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Charge controllers;

MPPT type will convert the voltage to proper charging voltage for the battery bank, They will down convert the voltage and use most of the wattage coming in. You will want to have @ 30% more voltage than is required for charging (@14volts per 12v system) so typically you will want 12volt panels in series.

PWM do not down convert, rather limit the voltage coming in. While higher voltage panels can sometimes be used (check the controllers limits) the 'extra' voltage is just lost. When correctly sized panels are used there is about a 10% loss using this type charge controller.