Inverter Settings

Metz
Metz Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
I am very new to solar power.
I have a 24volt 3KVA Voltacon inverter and am just about to buy 2 x 12volt 210Ah Solite batteries to put together for the 24 volt system.
Three settings on the inverter I'm not sure about because I don't want to damage the batteries by overcharging or discharging too much, they are 1) 'Bulk charging voltage' default 28.2 volts.
2) 'Floating charging voltage' default 27 volts.
3) 'Low DC cut off voltage' default 21 volts.
However some say 'Bulk' charge higher, like 29.2, the Solite company say in their charging instructions something about charging at 16 volts which I assume would mean 32 volts on a linked 24 volt system. Others say don't discharge below 50% which would be 24.4 volts (12.2 is 50%) not 21 volts.
Very confused.com ..... don't want to damage anything :(

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2016 #2
    Use the battery manufactures settings for the Bulk voltage and float if they suggest a float voltage.

The low voltage disconnect will vary due to your wiring and how you use the inverter. The 50% is a good rule but a system in operation will have voltage sag when loads are running. The resting voltage of around 24.2 volts does represent 50%, but under load the voltage will be less!

I would be sure to wire the battery bank with the manufactures suggested wire gauge for the distance it will be from the battery bank. Likely 2/0 (NOT 2 gauge) for up to 5 feet and 4/0 up to 15. This will help the inverter not seeing a greater sag due to wiring loses.