Newbie here, need opinions on inverters

H_G
H_G Registered Users Posts: 16 ✭✭
I may have posted this same question before but in the wrong section of this forum, if I did I apologize. 
I'm asking for opinions on which brand/power inverter to buy if I wanna run a fridge or small washing machine during an emergency. I have already installed four 100 watt panels, controller, fuses, kill switch and four 125 amp hr lead acid batteries in parallel. I own a 1200 watt square wave inverter from harbor freight, will it be enough for one of these appliances at a time and never simultaneously? If not, which brand/power inverter would you suggest that would be reliable in the long run? I've looked and xantrex and aims online. 
this system will be kept for emergencies only. 
Thanks. 

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    In a pinch, you could use what you have, if there was problems with the washing machine starting while the fridge was running, you could turn it off for the hour the washing machine was running. It might be a little small for some fridges and large top load washing machines. If it was only going to be for emergency use, the square wave might be okay, particularly with older units. We have heard that modern washing machines have issues with square wave (computer control).

I would go with the Xantrex, Most of the Aims aren't fit to be boat anchors...
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • H_G
    Precisely what I've found on the Aims brand l, not dependable, thanks for the help. 
  • mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭