Alcatel Lucent 12AVR145ET Telecom 12 volt AGM batteries for off grid

bobertcom
bobertcom Registered Users Posts: 29 ✭✭
Been a while since I have posted, but I have been lurking :# NAWS is my go-to forum! 

Anyway, newbie charging error: I killed my x16 6 volt golf cart batteries over the winter.  They are still going, but the SG after multiple charges and equalize shows I murdered them.  The AGS support kicks on alot to make up for the battery issue.   

They are wired series/parallel for my 24 volt weekend off grid cabin.  I have a Schnieder 4024 inverter, 60 amp MPPT solar charger with x10 180w solar panels, 5500 watt generator backup on autostart.

I happened across 12 Alcatel Lucent 12AVR145ET Telecom 12 volt AGM batteries, see attached photos.  Great price, 6 months old, and load tested.  Gonna series/parallel them to 24 volt as well.  I understand the issues with telecom batteries, but since this is a weekend cabin, I think they will work fine for us.

Soooo....  I'm new to the battery thing as evident by my murder of 16 golf cart batteries (RIP).  Can I get some advise on charging these AGM batteries?    Should I just use the Schneider AGM charge profile on the inverter and MPPT charger?

Thanks all!

Bob

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Telecom batteries are rated for about 100 cycles of high power usage.  Then they die.   if they are free and you can carry them twice (once to your place, and then shortly to the recycler) then go for it,  you will get a couple months out of them,
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||