Solar in an Off Grid Cabin in Maine

I am new to this forum and certainly would like any advice/input from the rest of you.

My electrical needs would be:

Well pump

110V Atwood 20 Gal Hot Water Heater

Refrigator

LED Lights

Desktop Computer etc.

65in LED TV and associated Direct TV attachments

Wood Stove for heat with a blower

I am new to solar but I plan on this year finishing up a log cabin in Maine. To run power to the cabin would cost approximately 7k so I believe solar is the way to go. Most of my power consumption should be in the evenings. I have a 6250 generator as a backup if needed or to top off the batteries if needed as well.

From doing my research I have come up with a system which I believe will satisfy my current electrical power needs and will allow for some expansion if needed in the future however there are some questions that I do have. So for now here is the basic setup:

8 – 250Watt Poly Panels wired for 48V (KYOCERA or Canadian Solar) (Recommendations?) mounted on the ground (approximately 50ft run to house)?

DC Disconnect between panels and combiner box  (Recommendations?)

From the combiner box go into an MPPT controller (Flexmax 80 AMP or MidNite Classic 250V-63Amp)

Into another DC Disconnect before it goes into 8 AGM Mighty Max 12V 200AH  battery bank wired serial/parallel for 48V.

Into another DC Disconnect before going into a Magnum MS4448PAE 120/240 Volt Off Grid Inverter 60 Amp Charger. Out of the inverter into AC Disconnect before going into the 100 amp service panel.

At this point I’m not exactly sure of the wire sizes throughout the system before the service panel?

Can I use a 48V battery charger?

What type of DC and AC Disconnects/fuses should I use?

What I have mapped out looks right or am I missing something?

So I guess this is a good place to start.

Comments

• softdown
    softdown Solar Expert Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2016 #2
    I'm not a solar consultant though I have three initial thoughts: