schneider context XW6848, 5548, 4048 inverter opinions?

new2PV
new2PV Solar Expert Posts: 305 ✭✭
I want to buy the new context Xw line inverter, however I am just looking on some opinions of this unit before I go ahead with the purchase? Anything really bad about these units?
XW6848 inverter with 2 X mppt 60 150 CC , with Canadian solar 260Watt panels 2 x 3.5 kw array

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭
    Hi new2..,

Welcome to this Forum.

I have no experience with Schneider Inverter/Chargers.

Several things that look concerning to me in the specs:

There appears to be NO Idle Power consumption stated for either the XW or XW+ inverters, EXCEPT for Search Mode -- this concerning because, the Context SW 24 V inverter chargers seem to have alarmingly Idle consumption, wonder if Schneider is ducking a high idle consumption, by not stating it.

For the XW+ inverter specs that I've looked at, the Inverter input voltage range is stated as 60 VDC for the 48V units. This may be a spec error, as this is essentially un-useable with Flooded, AGM, Edison, and probably other battery chemistries. The specs for the previous model -- the XW -- states battery input voltage range to 64 V. 64 V is still a bit low for Flooded batteries that are cold, or being EQed, IMO.

Then, there is the requirement for extra doo-dads for adjusting parameters, and updating the often-stale FirmWare, as supplied by Schneider. The supply chain from China, where most of the Schneider electronic hardware is made. These units seem to be built in large quantities, and factory/distribution stock appears not to be rotated, or updated.

Some here, have been disappointed with some of the ways this family of inverters seem to interact with the Grid -- I do not remember the exact details, but Schneider seems to be very slow in even trying to correct some of the most annoying BUGs, but whatta I know.