Copper Bus Bar Design

ouello
ouello Registered Users Posts: 21
I have copper bar stock and I'm a machinist so I'll finally save on something...
  • 6 UPS batteries x 50ah (not the best I know, but they were free...)
  • Max of 100A draw
  • All #2 AWG welding cable (not purchased yet) around (16" runs)

Can the bus bar be too big? Lets say I have 1" x 1" x 6"...

I'm also wondering if I should drill 5/16" (.3125") holes and a set screw on top to hold the wires in (like on cc)
This way I would save on wire connectors...
or will copper connectors give a better contact?

Can anyone share their set-up pictures?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Copper Bus Bar Design

No--Cannot be too much copper bus bar. Obviously very soft, so more thread length will help too.

Regarding welding cable--It is usually very fine wire because it is designed to flex a lot. It makes welding cable difficult to terminate reliably. And the holes in the bus bar/copper crimp lugs need to be larger diameter because of the fine stranding (more air space in between strands).

If you can, I would suggest crimping the welding cables with proper copper lugs--I think it will be more reliable than using set screw type clamping.

Poster 2manytoyz has made a website with lots of pictures about his solar installation (from the beginning through several upgrades--Lots of DIY type projects).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • ChrisOlson
    ChrisOlson Banned Posts: 1,807 ✭✭
    ouello wrote: »
    Can anyone share their set-up pictures?

Hi, I did not use copper, but instead 6061 T6 aluminum. I just rebuild my bus - the old one was build the same way and was still working fine after 9 years. I just replaced it because we changed our system from 24 to 48 volts.