78 cents per watt is it too good to be true

124»

Comments

• wild01
    wild01 Solar Expert Posts: 100 ✭✭✭
    Re: 78 cents per watt is it too good to be true
    niel wrote: »
    "I rebuild powerplants for a living, which is why I would never rely on one;)"

what type of power plants do you rebuild, ie. nuclear, coal, hydro.....? and what is your role in the rebuild?

if this is more than you want the forum to know you can pm me and if it's too much to reveal to me too just say noneya.;)

I am a millwright. in the last year I have worked on coal/steam turbines, combustion/nat gas turbines, and am currently working to install a 62 mw hydro tubine

more detailed PM sent, as I do not wish to hijack thread.
  • Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭

Well in his blog at Sunelec John K. took a swipe at NAWS, in the blog though he stated that Evergreen had been purchased.

I found This article that says the assets had been sold, I would guess primarily the string ribbon tech of growwing/forming silicon. ...but I wonder if they assumed the liabilities (warranties)

Thought others might be interested.
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

to mr. kimball i give my personal opinion of all of this,