using a forklift battery

ozarkgem
ozarkgem Registered Users Posts: 21
I did a search and didn't see anything about using a forklift battery. I have 3kw of panels, Magnum 4024 pure sine wave and thinking of using a 24 volt
750 amp hr forklift battery. I have not installed anything yet. I still need a charge controller. I also have a Kubota 6.5 kw gen set as a backup. I am going totally off grid with this system. I just built a new cabin with off grid in mind. I may need to add more panels for the AC. I am rather new at this. I
have played with solar in my barn and another cabin I had . So I may have lots of questions later on. So my main question is , has anyone used a forklift battery? I can get one that is 2 yrs old for $750.00. I have the equipment to move it with so that is not a problem.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: using a forklift battery

Forklift batteries are fairly popular. They are very rugged, long life (upwards of 15-20 years), large AH capacity, so you don't usually have to parallel battery strings.

The downside is they tend to use more distilled water and are a bit less efficient/higher self discharge.

Our usual suggestion is 5% to 13% of battery 20 Hour rating (i.e., a 100 AH battery needs 5-13 amps of charging current). For a forklift battery, I would suggest more charging current, closer to 10% to 13% of rated power to make up for less efficiency/higher self discharge (especially when batteries get old).

Poster "adas" has been getting very used forklift batteries, cutting out failed cells, and using them in his off-grid fabrication business (Hawaii) for quite a while. Has been very happy. You can search for his posts/threads by clicking on the link.

Also, if you have problems finding posts using the forum search tool--You can use Google with the "site:wind-sun.com" tag:
    • Forklift battery site:wind-sun.com

And you will get a 1,000 hits or more.