Redundant Xantrex PV system

Hello to all the years of experience on the board here. I am an electrical engineer, but I am new to PV power systems, so I hope you can bear with me and be gentle. I have a project to rebuild my garage to be more like a PV array with parking underneath. I have acquired 54 Sharp NT-175 panels for a really good price, delivered. I am planning on a Xantrex XW system, so I plan to split the panels into strings of 3 in series, and 6 strings in parallel per MPPT60-150 SCC, for 3 chargers (3.15 kW/charger). The original idea was to feed a single large bank of batteries at 48V then run 2 XW6048 inverters off the batteries to the house and grid, with a Xanbus connecting all 5 devices. But it occured to me that I could replace the 2 XW6048s with 3 XW4548 inverters, then split the battery bank into 3, each fed by one MPPT60. But all 3 inverters are tied to the same grid, same back-up generator, and same load. The idea is to implement 3 separate redundant subsystems, so that any one could be taken out of service with only a 33% degradation of capacity.

My question for the Xantrex pros is this: each inverter and charge controller can be tied together with a Xanbus, but when the inverters are tied together, what happens? The state of charge of each battery bank may vary, requiring different management by its SCC, and different sell back to the grid Can the inverters share a Xanbus together and still have an affinity for the charge controller that is tied to its DC bus? Do the inverters even need to talk to each other, other than the AC sync interface? If not, would that lead to 3 identically programmed inverters and 3 Xanbusses? Would there need to be 3 SCPs? And network gateways? That starts to get messy.

I have been looking at the MPPT80-600 but a pair of them doesn't have enough headroom for my comfort. This project is about a year out, depending on my architect's caffeine intake, so I have some time to refactor things.

Comments

• RCinFLA