Harbor Freight 100 watt kit

Cachaco310
Cachaco310 Registered Users Posts: 3
Good afternoon.
I’m new to the solar power movement. I’m trying to set up an enclosed trailer with a Harbor Freight 100 watt kit. I would like to find out if it can be used with a Dewalt 20 volt multi battery charger.

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Does the kit include an inverter? These kits would typically include 12v nominal panel(s) and a charge controller for charging a 12v battery. The 20v charger likely takes 120vac, so you need to add a 12v battery to store the solar power, and an inverter to run the dewalt charger.

A cheap MSW inverter might work, but I'd suggest using a PSW unit, such as the 300w Morningstar sold by our hosts.
    Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer
    Night system ~1kw panels into 1xMNClassic150 700ah 12v bank morningstar 300w inverter
  • Cachaco310
    Hi Estragon.
    Thanks for the information. Excuse my ignorance. What’s a PSW? I do know I will have to get an inverter and a deep cycle battery. But will this set up be able to power a 20 volt 4 battery charger. I’m setting it up for a disaster response trailer.
    Thank you
  • dennis461
    dennis461 Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭✭
    you need the Dewalt vehicle charger, plugs into the cigarette socket of the HF controller, but it only charges a single Dewalt battery at a time
    Camden County, NJ, USA
    19 SW285 panels
    SE5000 inverter
    grid tied
  • mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Before purchasing an inverter check with Dewalt if their chargers can work with modified sine wave, many chargers cannot and have a very short life. Read this for more information https://www.novopal.com/blogs/news/sine-wave-vs-modified-sine-wave-which-is-better