batteries abruptly stopped holding voltage under load...

Comments

• littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2017 #32
    I've seen you on both forums, and yes they can be hard on people there but I believe other than one poster all intentions were good. You need to be very specific about your equipment and situation, something you couldn't be as you don't really know solar design and electronics . Diagnosing problems via cyberspace isn't always easy. Anyway I have been doing this for a few years and don't feel qualified to give you a solution, it takes decades of learning, doing and understanding off grid solar to be able to be an expert in this field. whoever designed your system isn't one of those people. This became obvious when they set up your rather large system with a rather small 24 volt inverter and small battery bank.

One comment I will make is this. This is the first time you mentioned what model charge controller model you have. Granted, it being a 100 amp controller and may be rated for 6,600 watts that rating is for a 48 volt system. at 24 volts it is rated for 1/2 of that.  If you want a dependable smoothly operating system down the road which will give you much longer battery life you really need to go with 48 volt. About the only equipment  you need to replace is your inverter, some minor rewiring and size your battery bank properly. I strongly recommend you find another QUALIFIED installer to do this.

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2017 #33