Inverter repair advice?

Options
Hairfarm
Hairfarm Solar Expert Posts: 225 ✭✭✭
Does anybody know of an inverter repair service? My junky old Prosine 2.0 inverter/charger is have a problem with one of its heat sink sensors. This leads to the fan staying on 100% of the time. I've removed the cover it and sprayed compressed into the unit to try to clean the heat sink sensor but I'm still getting a high reading from one of the sensors. It might be time to upgrade or have it repaired.

thanks,

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hairfarm,

Do you know the nature of the sensor  --  is it a snap-action thermal switch,   a thermistor,   a diode ...  etc?

The Klixon(c) type  switches are reliable,  but have a finite cycle life.   A thermistor or diode might be glued down,  tab-mounted,  etc.

Is there any unusual looking discoloration on/around the sensor?

Can you post a pic of the sensor?

I have no specific knowledge of the inner workings of this inverter.

FWIW,   Vic

Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548 Inverters, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 4X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  25 KVA Polyphase Kubota diesel,  Honda Eu6500isa,  Eu3000is-es, Eu2000,  Eu1000 gensets.  Thanks Wind-Sun for this great Forum.
  • Hairfarm
    Options
    Vic,

Thanks for responding. No, I don't know what kind of sensor it is. I can't even locate it on the board either. Xantrex has never released the schematic for this unit since it's a "Non-repairable" unit. Apparently this is a known issue with DIY'rs who tried to repair this unit and were unable to find a schematic for it. Xantrex simply swaps the old out for a refurb if it's under warranty, which mine isn't.

I can't post a pic if I can't locate the sensor, but I may be able to post a pic of the overall guts of the inverter.

thanks again Vic
  • softdown
    softdown Solar Expert Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭
    Options