Mountain cabin off-grid

Options
Horsefly
Horsefly Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭✭✭
Please excuse my lack of knowledge (but maybe I'm in the right forum!).  I'm a retired electrical engineer and so I hope I can noodle my way through whatever help you guys provide.

We (my sister, brother, and I) have a cabin in the high country of Colorado. We are somewhat committed to putting in solar and reducing our use of the existing gas generator, but are novice / clueless about the path ahead.  Here's what I think is probably the relevant details:
  1. The place is pretty inaccessible for 4-5 or so months of the year. Whatever we do needs to survive on it's own for this time.
  2. Although completely off-grid (many miles to any grid service), we built the place wired for 120V and have had a gasoline generator for the past 40 years (current generator is 9kW).
  3. We do have a few (3) propane wall-mounted lamps for the evening, and a propane refrigerator, and the water heater is propane. 
  4. The largest draw of power is the well pump. We have a pressure tank so that the pump only has to run when the tank gets low, or when someone is showering. We think the pump is about 1400W (120VAC), but I'm not sure what the startup surge is.  On a typical visit by one of our families to the cabin, the pump causes us to run the generator for maybe 5 minutes, 2-5 times per day.
  5. We probably have at most 15 120V incandescent lights in the house, which we are in the process of swapping out for LEDs.
  6. We do have a small microwave oven (maybe 1500W load), but I'd be surprised if it is used more than 30 minutes in a year. We've visited a few times this year, and never used it all.
  7. The only other things that will draw power (if we have it) are cell phone chargers and laptop chargers.