Curious neighbors looking at my solar system

solarvic
solarvic Solar Expert Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭✭
Guess I started something in my area. since I got my solar system online DEC 24. I am getting lots of visitors dropping by that are asking all kind of questions about my solar systems. I did most of it myself even though I am not an electrician. Hired one at the end to do the wireing from solar panels ect. A neighbor about 3 miles from me stopped in today asking me all kind of questions. He bought 4 Suntech 270 watt panels and told me he is going to connect them to a 40 gal. waterheater and preheat the water before it goes into his 82 gal. waterheater. Said he was going to use 2 dc heating elementsin the 40 gal and maybe put 1 in the 80 gal water heater. I don,t know for sure but I am thinking with all them solar panels he might overheat the water heater. I told him my personal opinion that he better make sure the pressure releaf valve is working and he has a place for the water to go. I told him also that I thougt it might be better to get an inverter and make use of the electric in his house. Anyone that knows a lot more than me have any opinions?
:D S:cool:larvic:D

Comments

• dwaller
    dwaller Registered Users Posts: 18
    Re: Curious neighbors looking at my solar system

Sounds like a perfect scenario to be using evacuated tubes. Much more efficient and cost effective vs. using solar electric to heat water.

I am no expert though....
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

It sort of will heat his hot water... He can go through the normal thermostat/over temperature limit switches...