C40 questions

Marcel
Marcel Solar Expert Posts: 39
Hello nice people. I'm just getting started with solar and don't think I have installed the C40 correctly. The digital display indicates 0 watts. The volts average around 13. The panel is a KC120 and I am using two 6volt golf cart batteries. What should the display read for watts? Thanks.

Comments

• westcoastslider
    westcoastslider Registered Users Posts: 20
    Re: C40 questions

The c40 should have + from the pv separate from the + from the battery. The - are joined internally. Make sure you don't have the pv + in the battery + and the battery + in the pv +.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Does the display show anything at all, or is it completely blank?
  • Marcel

Its got a bunch of 0's for everything except the volts. I checked to make sure all the wires are going to the right place and they are.

I remember last week when the sun was out, the amp and amp hours were registering but have never seen anything other than 0's for the other things.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

So the next question is; what have you got for panels, and are they putting out Voltage? There could be a blown fuse/breaker and/or mis-wiring there. If you have a Voc that is above the battery Voltage you should be getting charging (providing the C40 is set up right).
  • Groser
    Groser Registered Users Posts: 10

with the sun shining the amps display will tell you how many amps are coming in to the c40. watts = amps X volts. example 5 amps coming in at 12 volts equals 60 watts. zero amps = zero watts. the volts you are seeing are the volts of the batteries. use a volt meter and make sure the solar panel is producing.
    check all connections. hope this helps.
  • Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭