New Guy with VATW question

Hi, I,m Mick from Australia,
I didn,t see an introduction section so I,ll say my hello,s hear. This looks like a nice site and hopefully I can learn and share info. I am a boilermaker/ welder and back yard engineer. So if I can help anybody in that regard, well let me know.

I need some advise in regards to a VAWT, I am making one. It will measure approx. 1400mm in dia. and approx. 1800mm high. I don,t know how meanly "vanes" to put in it. Each vane will be about 400mm x 1800 with three folds in it for strenght. I thought about six. Does anybody have any veiws on this?

Cheers Mick

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: New Guy with VATW question

Welcome aboard Mick!

While there are a few folks here that are into building their own wind turbines... There are some forums/sites that may help you more:

www.otherpower.com
    www.builditsolar.com (links to Wind section)

While I am not a big fan of wind myself--You may wish to focus on the standard Horizontal Axis Wind Turbines.

The VAWT's seem to be mostly smoke and mirrors (at least the commercial versions).

And even with HAWT's, there are few manufacturers of "home sized" turbines out there that are very good (building your own may be a way around that issue).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • peterako
    peterako Solar Expert Posts: 144 ✭✭

Hi there welcome,

Sorry but you have to turn the question around :confused: meaning.

First see what is you avr. and maximum wind speed what is the power production that you want and what is the installation height.

My fast calculation and i can inform you that your six vanes will give a slow speed max. 230 rpm. But for a direct drive generator you need speed. What is the construction material used.

A friend has close by a similar design using only three vanes just above the tree height and is producing max.900W.