Something I don't understand about inverters

moyboy06
moyboy06 Registered Users Posts: 6
Ok so I'm new at this thing, and this might be a stupid question...but why are most inverters so low voltage on the DC side? I'm designing a solar array that will produce approx 1kW, and the voltage output of it is around 330Vdc. Most inverters I see are rated for a dc voltage of like 24 or at most 48 volts. Am I missing something? I assume these won't work for my system.

Comments

• blackswan555
    blackswan555 Solar Expert Posts: 246 ✭✭
    Re: Something I don't understand about inverters

It is common (well this side of the pond) To build battery based systems from 12 v > 60 v as most charge controllers only go to a max 150v, If it is a batery-less / sell to grid system, It is then up around the 300v area,

Have a good one
    Tim
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭

It has always been my understanding that battery voltages above ~48vdc get into a fairly dangerous DC voltage range. I believe that there are some significant code/installation issues above 48vdc. Also, to get to the 300vdc range would require a huge number of cells, each adding connections and failure points in a system.

Tony
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

There are larger commercial/industrial UPS's out there that have 200 VDC+ battery packs. The Prius UPS project talks about them a little bit.

Is there some reason you have to have such high voltage from your 1kW array? It is not a very large array and would normally be used with a fairly small inverter (~1kW maximum or so) for a normal solar off-grid system. Which would work fine with anything in the normal 12-48 VDC input range of inverters.