Why are standard battery bank voltages so low?

I'm a mechanical engineer by training, and I've studied switching power supply electronics a lot in the last year. What I want to know is why don't PV systems get designed with higher DC voltage busses? Like 100V DC or 120-150V DC etc?

Of course, there are *very* few products designed and sold for DC voltages above 48V, so that leads designers and installers to design around 12, 24, or 48V most frequently.

Consider this.
Many PV systems for homes and offices are above 1kW, meaning there are at least 10 panels in the system, and if wired in series you could get 150 - 180V DC out of the string.
Also, consider that eventually the voltage will have to be brought up to 120V or 230V AC depending on your standard voltage where you live. In order for inverters to produce 120V AC, they must first transform the bus voltage as high as 170V.

So why isn't anybody building systems and products with higher DC (over 100V DC) bus voltages, where all batteries and all panels are in series, and you don't have all the losses associated with converting voltages from very low (24V DC) to very high (120-230V AC)? Every time you run through a transformer you throw away energy due to transformer losses. In addition, you can use smaller wires everywhere, and you can use components that don't need to be able to handle large currents.

I know of course that the higher voltages are more dangerous . . .
and that if you make 24V components, the pieces can be arranged more flexibly. . . .

Anyone have any feedback? Do US regulations demand that DC voltages stay below a certain level?

I've seen inverter products for grid-tie systems that have DC input voltages that start at ~120V DC, but never anything similar for systems that include batteries.

Thanks,
GNB

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Why are standard battery bank voltages so low?