Automatic Generator Starting

Hi everyone, I've been collecting components for my system for about 10 years now and finally installed at my cabin near Monticello, Florida this summer. It's been quite a learning process and reading this forum for about a year now has been a tremendous resource. The basic installation went very smoothly thanks in great part to finding most answers to my questions by doing searches here, and I have power up and running.

Now comes time to get past the basic stuff, and I could sure use some advice. Let me do a quick run-down of what is up so far:

800 watts in panels wired at 24 volts(2000 watts' worth more waiting to be installed as I acquire additional charge controllers, panel racks, and time.)

1375 AH HUP Solar-One battery, 12 volts, automatic battery watering system

Prosine 3.0 inverter, 12 volt model

Outback MX60

Honda EU3000is generator

I've been very meticulous in following the John Wiles' NEC publication which is probably why things have gone so well so far. I am heading up there Halloween weekend to do some more work ( I live in Vero Beach) and I would like to be able to connect the EU3000 so that it automatically starts up when the battery runs low, and shuts off when it tops off the battery. What is the best way to do this?

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Automatic Generator Starting

With the MX60 & > 1,000W, you are better off moving to a higher system voltage, or investing in a copper mine. (you will loose a fair amount of power in copper resistance)

Do you have a large 12V investment (lots of 12V LED lighting and appliances?)

I'm not familar with the "1375 AH HUP Solar-One battery", got any links for info about it, what would a 2nd one cost, or is this configurable to 24V ?