another battery charging question

hermit
hermit Solar Expert Posts: 25
bought 16 new wet cell NAPA 215AH 115 mins at 75 amps 6 volt deep cycle golf cart batteries (same as deka gc15 wet cell) man march/08 battery temp 65 F. this is my first time charging 6 volt deep cycle batteries.

- i am charging 1 battery with a motomaster auto multi-amp battery charger. battery manufacturer says to charge and do an equilization before putting into service. battery initially had 6.27 volts.

- charged battery on 2 amp 6 volt setting for 2 hrs and amp meter is reading 2.6 amps and 6.9 volts. amps not tapering off. no electrolyte bubbling.

- set charger on 20 amp charge, amp meter reads 13 amps at 7.8 volts. electrolyte started bubbling immediatly. did this for 10 mins. amps did not taper off.

- went back to 2 amp charge setting and after another 2 hrs the battery is still taking 2.6 amps at 6.9 volts and not tapering off.

- this is a charger that will will digitally read full when the charger figures the battery is full. it works like it should on 12 volt batteries.

- question, is the battery in absorbtion or do these deep cycle batteries like a 2.6 amp float at this voltage or is my battery charger not intelligent enough to charge deep cycle batteries. i do not have a specific gravity reader yet.(tomorrow) is there something i am missing in my thought process. please add any info as i have 16 of these yet to charge before i put into service and do not want to start out by damaging the batteries. thanks.

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: another battery charging question

Hermit , what are the recommendations from the manufacturer for charging? volts & amps, time for EQ, SG, etc?
    FWIW A fully charged '12 v ' battery would be at ~13.2 v so I would guess a 6 v should really be ~ 6.6 V ? your manufacturer will be able to tell you.

Cheers
    Eric

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM