Newbie Off Grid Design Florida

Rhyolite
Rhyolite Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
I am located here in Central Florida. I would like to construct a small Off Grid system to power my pool pump (0.75 HP 230V 5.8 amps, 1.67 SF, THP 1.25) up to 14 hours a day. The secondary purpose is to run loads such as refrigerator and small lighting loads during a hurricane storm outage, potentially 3 days or more. In this mode the pool pump can be turned off or run in low speed. I am not considering grid tie because I want 9independence from the grid and battery back up.

I am a newbie as to the latest technology and have a lot of gaps. From what I read a pure sine wave inverter  will be more efficient for motor loads. Knowing the cost benefit versus of a modified sine wave system would be helpful.

Challenges. I will need battery sized appropriately for running the pool pump during night time hours and alternately running a refrigerator and deep freeze during storm outage. To keep the system affordable I would consider lead acid batteries versus Lithium Ion.

My front rooftop faces south however parts of it are shaded intermittently by trees. Panel placement will be a challenge. If I must use a booster on the panels I will. Having a high voltage system might be advantageous to keep IR losses down as the batteries and panels might be some distance apart.

I would prefer to implement this system myself rather than employ one of the many "experts" that knock on my door.

Any recommendations on products and sizing would be appreciated.

Comments

• Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Bill can give you all math and advice. I tend to just look at the facts. That pump is a big load for that number of hours !

You can't have shade for solar to work right.   High voltage is not going to help you and may be worse in shading. Saving on IR losses is way down at the bottom of the design goals if this is to work.