Solar/battery set up on a Handwashing trailer

squinko
squinko Registered Users Posts: 8 ✭✭
Hello, 
I am VERY new to solar and battery power. I have a 10 sink Handwashing trailer I use on Wildland Fires. Currently I use either a small generator to power the trailer or I plug into shore power. I want to add a battery system with solar panels to run my pump, LED lights and to power my tankless water heater.  It’s a propane water heater but still needs power. I’ve done some research but it’s like learning a foreign language to me. I’ve seen other systems on similar trailers as simple as a Harbor Freight solar panels hooked up to batteries and the batteries power the inverter.  Also seen pretty advanced stuff like on motor homes. 

My sinks are not used all the time. They mostly get used in the morning and evening. The pump will only run for 20-30 seconds then shut off. It may start up and shut down multiple times while people are coming and going. It’s an on demand style pump.  Same with the hot water heater. Any advice would be greatly appreciated on inverter size, battery type (Acid or lithium) and portable solar set up.  Below are the specs on my pump and water heater. This trailer sits all winter and is only used during the summer for about 2-4 weeks at a time. 

Thanks in advance for any advice. 

Bur Cam well pump
120 volt electrical connection
3/4 HP
115 VAC
60Hz
7.5 Amps (15 Apms when the pump starts)

Rinnai (RL75i) Propane tankless water heater
Normal 76W
Standby 2W 
Anti frost 120W
Max current 4A

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    squinko said:
    Bur Cam well pump
    3/4 HP
    115 VAC
    60Hz
    7.5 Amps (15 Apms when the pump starts)