Off the Grid setup

maxx
maxx Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
Hey guys I'm new to this I want to set up an off the grid solar panel system...
I have access to 13 375 w 7 amp panels..... mono...
 question is how to set this up..???... I am looking to get close to 4500 watt. 220 v Peak delivery to the house
If you could take it from here I will follow your instructions

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum Maxx,

A few questions... Is this going to be a "Grid Tied" solar power system (solar panels => GT INverter => Home power panel)? This type of system only works when there is utility power... If the utility power fails (weather, car knocks down power pole, etc.), there is no solar power (there are a few GT type systems out there than can supply ~1,500 Watts to an AC outlet--In the middle of a sunny day.

And if you are looking for power GT Solar--There are "central inverters" (one or several) larger inverters mounted on the wall of the home... Or there are "micro inverters"--Basically one inverter per solar panel that then connect to 240 VAC power line from main panel to your roof.

Each has its advantages and disadvantages.

For GT Solar--Generally you need building permit (with Engineering Racking drawings and Electrical drawings) from your local building department. And you need approval from the local utility and need to sign up for a net metering plan. There are some utilities, and even some states where GT Solar/Net Metering is either not allowed, or the rate plans have almost no economic savings.

Or, are you looking for a full Off Grid Solar power system (battery bank+solar charger+AC inverter, etc.)? This will supply power to your home without utility connection. There are "variations" in systems... There are Hybrid AC inverters that does both OG and GT connections (or use Hybrid AC inverter--They work for both OG and GT/Hybrid)...