SMA SI8 SOC drops

Options
Xale
Xale Registered Users Posts: 8 ✭✭
Hello
 I'm off grid and my Sunny Island have trouble with the SOC. Sometimes it drop from 70 to 20% without reason.
SMA online recommended a software update, but it doesn't change anything. My local retailer has no will to help
I'm not an electrician and it's difficult to deal with the parameter and understand how it works by myself.
I hope someone can help me
I'm sorry for my poor English
Best regards

Comments

• Xale
    Options
    SOC curves to illustrate
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Welcome to the forum Xale,

On your second graph, it shows an increase in State of Charge around midnight. Are you charging with a generator in the middle of the night (manual or automatic)?

Do you have a graph or any voltage readings of your battery bus during these times (or before and after)? Any indications of problems with the battery bank (such as loss of capacity)?

Check all battery connections that they are tight and clean?

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    My guess is you are looking at system voltage!

I'd guess;

System voltage is affected by loads, That is the reason you see higher % during the day when you have the support of the solar array.
    You see a dip sometime after, while you are still up and doing, cooking dinner, watching TV. Then when you go to bed there are less loads on your system and the system voltage rises.

In the morning, you see a slow rise in voltage as the sky lightens, but don't see a big 'jump' until the sun hits the array squarely. about 11am. (it's strong enough jump that there might have been morning clouds that cleared as well.