I need to be educated on how to power at real pump for a pressurized water system

Bud1951
Bud1951 Registered Users Posts: 4
I've been trying to figure this one out for a while but I was a millwright/pipe welder/machinist instead of an electrician. I need some help translating stuff into something I can follow. 

I have an RPS system that has 400 watts of solar panels feeding a controller which powers a 24vdc in ground pump. The controller also charges two 12v AGM batteries wired in series for 24vdc output. I've been running a SurFlo 24v pump for my garden but now it won't support the sprinkler. I guess it's already worn out. Rather than rebuild it two or three times a year someone here suggested going to a cast iron ac pump which sounds great to me but I need to learn more. 

The ground water is pumped into a 1600 gal storage tank and the supply for the SurFlo (soon to be ac) pump comes off the bottom of the tank about 3 feet below the pump so a shallow well pump will easily handle the lift. It already has a pressure tank in the system, too.
It was suggested to go to a 24v inverter to power a 115vac pump that will also provide water to the house about 100 yards away and about 15 feet higher than the pump.

Here's the question - what watt inverter do I need and how many more batteries do I need to add to the battery bank? How do I calculate the watts/starting watts for a pump? I've seen calc sheets but not one that covers this application.

I was thinking along the lines of this for a pump -

Also, I know the amp hrs/watts have to calculated but would it be better to run the pump on 115vac or 240vac? It looks like the inverter I'll need will start at around $800 but that's much easier to deal with than not having water here in the hurricane zone.

Thanks for any input! Directions to a solar site that deals with this stuff will be appreciated, too!

Comments

• JRHill
    JRHill Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭✭