Using Both Panels and Generator to Charge Batteries?

JRM
JRM Registered Users Posts: 29 ✭✭
I am a solar system beginner and am trying to figure out an off-grid electric system using both a solar panel controller and a generator to charge batteries that send DC power to an inverter.  My hope is to use a generator that automatically starts at about 12.0 volts then stops automatically at about 12.5 volts to charge batteries at night and on short and/or cloudy days.  I am assuming that this would save generator fuel by storing power in batteries compared to continuous generator use for AC power.  But I have seen mixed messages about how this will or will not work with the solar panel controller?  Can reverse feed problems be handled by battery isolators that allow current flow in only one direction, or would this make matters worse?  The thoughts of people with more experience would be greatly appreciated.  I can provide more information about system components if needed, but this post is already getting too long.

JRM

Comments

• wellbuilt
    wellbuilt Solar Expert Posts: 763 ✭✭✭✭
    There is no mention of the size of your system. 
     My system runs on solar and generator 
      I use 15% to 20% of my battery power over night . 

In the morning I check the system , look at the weather and decide if I’m going to run the generator or not  .(  I don’t want my system to start my genarator )
     if it’s looking like good clear sky’s the solar just charges the system . 
       If it’s looking cloudy I’ll run the generator , the charger will charge at 1900 watts , if the sun pops out the solar will add to the charging , as the sun starts adding charging power the generator starts backing off so I don’t go over my 50 amp max . 
     When I enter absorb charge my solar stops adding charging power and the genarator backs the power from the 1900watts to 400ish watts for 21/2 hours of absorb charge . 
     Then go’s to float .