Help please- off grid system review

dawgleader1
dawgleader1 Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
Hey all, I'm a newbie to solar and I'm working on my first system.  I'm not located in the Arizona area but I used to live in Nevada for awhile and I'm hoping to see if anyone here can offer any help or advice on my new/ first system here in South Carolina.   I've been doing quite a bit of research and asking for advice wherever I can and I've taken that advice to come up with what I hope is a solid plan. I will still preface this by saying I'm a moron when it comes to this kind of thing and my eyes can go cross when trying to understand electrical and engineering. That being said I've come up with what I think is a workable and safe system.

Backstory: My goal with the system is to have an off grid, emergency back up electrical system. This would be for powering the essentials after a bad storm, a downed tree, or zombie apocalypse. We'd mainly be using it to keep the refrigerator and freezer going and, if we have an abundance of sun coming in, maybe run a microwave or toaster oven here and there. I live in South Carolina and I'm counting on 4ish sun hours a day, less in the winter and more in the summer months of course. I'm trying to make it where my panels are mobile so that we can take them down during 'normal times' and put them up when needed and even move them from spot to spot during the year to collect as much sun as we can. My idea is that the inverter/ battery powerwalls will always be plugged into a home AC outlet to keep the batteries fully charged so if we lose power, we have 20kwh already on hand and then we'd throw the panels up and drop the already prepared cable to collect sun until electricity from the grid is restored.