Used Trace Inverter

UpNorthMan
UpNorthMan Registered Users Posts: 21 ✭✭
Hello Everyone,
I have a recreational cabin in Northern Minnesota that I have been building for several years. My current system is 48v 200ah agm battery, 1000w panels, and a small 250w inverter. We have been getting by, but we am looking to upgrade my inverter to something larger and also need to include a battery charger. This is a weekend cabin, so the system doesn't see heavy daily use.

I found a older Trace SW5548 1998 model for sale. The seller wants 400$ for it plus shipping.
Is this unit near its useful life?
Can a person still get replacement parts?
Common worn out parts?

Any comments would be appreciated.
 Thanks Ed

1000W panels Kid CC 184 ah battery bank @ 48v
Weekend cabin, 250w inverter.
Looking to upgrade inverter!
Tagged:

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Trace made good stuff, but I usually plan to replace electronics at 15 years and consider additional years a bonus. I would be a bit uncomfortable with a $600(?) 22 year old inverter. I think it would have to ship freight. 

Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,730 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2020 #3
    No parts except scavenged from used inverters. No networking makes it hard to see things in your power system. Today, inverter/chargers are networked and can give a visual aide in system operation.  The Trace/xantrex SW's are great if they are not used hard at this age and were protected by SPD.