Batteries needed for startup?

Options
Karen
Karen Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
Hi there, I am very new to solar, and struggling to make sense of what batteries I need for appx 2200AH per day (allowing for 35% max battery discharge, and enough for 3 days supply in winter times). The inverter/charge controller is 48v. I have worked out I need about 8  6v batteries of 285AH (or 20  12v batteries of 120AH). I am thinking of AGM lead carbon deep cycle batteries - 8 batteries x 6v in series. Can you experts give me a thumbs up or down on whether this will work. I assume there is no advantage of having a larger bank of 12v batteries - please correct me if I am wrong. Please reply at idiot level - I am not very up on all the techy details. THANKS
Karen in temperate northern France.

Comments

• NLVMike
    NLVMike Registered Users Posts: 4
    Options
    You might consider a bank of 2V FLA batteries. Your idea of using the 6V would work, but I would not recommend 20, 12V batteries.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Welcome to the forum Karen.

Can you tell me a bit more about your loads/battery calculations? I am guessing you are needing a 2,200 AH @ 48 volt battery bank based on wanting to discharge around 35% per day?

That would make your daily loads to be:
    • 2,200 AH * 0.35 discharge * 48 volts * 0.85 AC inverter eff = 31,416 WH per day ~ 31.4 kWH per day
    That is a lot of energy per day--Basically a full Home with (possibly) electric heat/hot water and some possible light A/C usage.

Generally--Suggest to review your loads and do as much conservation as you can (most efficient loads/LED lighting/refrigerator/water pump, using propane/wood/etc. for hot water/cooking/heating, lots of insulation/double pane windows, etc.). It is almost always cheaper to conserve power than to generate it.