schirmat Registered Users Posts: 4
Hi
I'm new to solar electricity and I bought a small PV 50W
IpMax 2.78a
VpMax 18v
ISC 3.4a
Voc 21.6v

with a MPPT MPPT24Z-20

Unforutnately even at full sun the controller will go up to 1.7a and quickly drop to zero then will grow back to 1.7 and drop again to zero, after a while it stabilizes at 0.2-0.4a

Any idea if the controller or solar pannel are defective? Anything I can do to check it out?

Thanks for your help!
I made a video here of the setup and behavior 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adc3NIf7GWc

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    I cannot tell from the video what is happening... It looks like your battery voltage is at 12.9 VDC, which could be fully charged (resting voltage), or be deeply discharged and that is the voltage when being charged.

What is the battery type (flooded cell, AGM, etc.) and battery Amp*Hour capacity (I assume it is a "12 VDC" battery)?

Anyway, the first step is to disconnect the solar panel, and then the battery bank (in that order).

Make sure that the wiring from the charge controller to the battery is short and heavy (you really do not want more than ~0.05 to 0.10 volts drop from controller to battery bank for optimum charging).

Next, connect the battery bank to the charge controller first (this is because most charge controllers get their power for the internal computer from the battery bank, and decide on 12 or 24 volt system based on battery voltage). If you do not connect the battery voltage first, the charge controller can end up in a "confused" state, or damaged (if you had higher voltage array).

Second, connect the solar panel to the input of the charge controller (you can cover/lay panel face down while connecting the wiring if a bit of sparking bothers you).

Do you have a separate volt meter handy? If so, measure the Vpanel input for a couple of these "cycles". And measure the Vbatt voltage for another couple of cycles...