110 volt from a 220 volt inverter?

the_uglydog
the_uglydog Registered Users Posts: 25 ✭✭
I have a project in The Philippines, the utility uses two 110 volt legs with a ground, no neutral 60hz. The system uses no 110, only 220 for all lights and appliances.  The original contractor here had no idea what he was doing, nothing on the system was correct or even close to it, and he installed inverters that are less than 1/4 of the size needed for our 220 usage, so I studied solar installation and did it over myself. Now I have some 220 volt inverters left over that tie in with two 110 lines both in and out, I want to use one to make 110 volts to run our US appliances.  Does anyone know if an inverter marked for 220 volts with two 110 lines can be just wired to a US type load center with each 110 line feeding each side and a separate ground just like in the US? Here they just tap into a 220 breaker and hack the 110 by grounding the other side, the inverters don't seem to like it, I know I could buy a 110 inverter, but I already have some of these, I want to do it right and feed each 110 to it's own side of the box. 
Thank you for your thoughts on this......        the dog

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'd use a step-down transformer.   Anytime you do something a inverter does not like, it's going to die early.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• BB.