Project electric cooking for rural zones

Options
Hi everyone!

I have been reading and learning from you for a while, today I would like to raise some doubts that are coming up with an NGO project that I have to present at the university.
I am studying whether it is feasible (now or in a few years) to make an off-grid system to replace the three-stone fire stove (since we are talking about rural areas) with electric stoves.

I have a daily consumption of about 2500 Wh / day and most would be a consumption contributed by the batteries, since the time zones of the food are at sunrise and sunset.

My first question arises if a 24 or 48 V system is preferable for such consumption (The maximum load power is about 2 kW).

The next question is with the batteries ... you cannot have constant maintenance since there is no training (they are rural areas of Rwanda), in this case, even if they are much more expensive it is better to use lithium batteries rather than lead deep discharge?

And the last question that takes me on the path of bitterness, I don't know if I should use an MPPT controller, PMW or use a hybrid to make the installation more compact and simple to use ...

I know there are many doubts, you don't have to answer all of them, any opinion will be appreciated.
Thank you very much for your time. Greetings and happy week!!

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2020 #2
    Options
    Welcome to the forum @DavidSerra95

Firstly it must be understood that solar power is extremely expensive, especially when it comes to heating 'cooking", outside the prime "midday " window of opportunity. Cooking within this window is possible which means there would have to be adjustments in traditional habits, good luck with that.