cheap meter or measuring device for solar energy from panels.

Options
edurbrow
edurbrow Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
edited January 2020 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Newbie here. I'm just getting started, got panels, charge controller and inverter from a friend who upgraded. I bought two 12v batteries. I don't have much money to spend.
What is the name of the device I need in order to measure the energy I'm collecting with solar panels? I'm still connecting panels and building frames for them and I want to see what effect placement, tilt and addition of panels make. Right now I have a Solar Charge Controller that is 30A PWM. It only has 3 lights on it. I see green when it is directly sunny and the red one lights up if it is not sunny enough or if I run the TV for a half hour. It is night now and I just checked the charge controller, the amber light is on along with the red one. I would like something more detailed than that, so I can see how the angle and tilt of the panels make a difference.

I have two more Solar Charge Controllers, but they are 10A MPPT and 15A. They both have displays, but I haven't tried them yet because I figure more amps are better. Is that right? I also want to track the voltage collected in the batteries. I have a multi-meter and I guess I could use that, but is there a simple gage or meter that could be attached permanently? I know there must be a range of prices from simple LED meters to complicated things that send data to computers. (Reading it on computer would be very convenient though!) What is a good starter for me, as a beginner with just 8 1/2 panels?
Also, what is a good meter to see the state of my 2 batteries? I can use my multi-meter, but something more permanent would be better, if it is cheap enough. My inverter makes a loud warning sound when I've just run the TV off the system for not very long. Any advice is much appreciated.
TIA
PS would a Kill A Watt meter work for Japan where the voltage is 100v?